1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

What Is the Order of Ikkos Award That US Olympic Figure Skating Medalists Give?


Order of Ikkos Medallion

Order of Ikkos Medallion

Photo Courtesy of USOC
The Order of Ikkos Award is an award that is made available to all U.S. Olympic medalists. The medalists can present the medal to one coach or mentor.

At the 2010 Olympic Winter Games in Vancouver, Olympic Figure Skating Champion, Evan Lysacek and Olympic Ice Dancing Silver Medalists, Meryl Davis and Charlie White, presented the Order of Ikkos medal to their coaches.

The Ikkos Award idea was started at the 2008 Olympics, so 2010 was the second Olympics the award was made available to give away.

The award is presented as part of each U.S Olympic medalist's Victory Tour. The Victory Tour takes place 24--36 hours after a U.S. athlete wins an Olympic medal. During the Victory Tour, there are press conferences, NBC interviews, and celebrations at the USA House.

At the 2010 Winter Olympic Games in Vancouver, the Order of the Ikkos ceremony took place during celebrations at the USA House that honored U.S. skaters Evan Lysacek and Meryl Davis and Charlie White.

“The effort and dedication an Olympic coach must have in preparing elite athletes to compete on the world’s biggest stage often goes unnoticed,” said Steve Roush, USOC Chief of Sports Performance. “The Order of Ikkos medal officially recognizes the knowledge, hard work and personal commitment of those coaches whose athletes achieve the greatest success at the Olympic and Paralympic Games. Given on behalf of the athlete and the USOC, the medal serves as a token of appreciation for a job well done.”

The Order of Ikkos name comes from Ikkos of Tarentum, who was first Olympic coach in ancient Greece.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.